loader image

Dwadash Jyotirlinga Kashi Yatra

About the Dwadash Jyotirlinga Temples :

Kashii is a place where the supreme being, Lord Shiva has manifested himself in the powerful shivling also known as the ‘Dwadash Jyotirlinga’ at 12 different locations in Kashi. According to Kashi Khand of Skand Purana, by the worship of these 12 Jyotirlingas in Kashi, one gets rid of their committed sins and will attain accomplishments in their life and work sphere.

According to the ‘Shiv Mahapurana’ with the darshans and yatra of the Jyotirlinga in Kashi, one attains more Punya than compared to the Jyotirlingas in their prime places.

For example – According to chapter 77, Shlok 46 of Kashi Khand of Skand Purana the darshan of Kedarnath Linga in Kashi one time and the Darshan of Kedar Jyotirlinga in Himalayas 7 times are both equal.

The 12 Jyotirlinga temples of Kashi as mentioned by the Shiv Mahapurana are :

  • Somnath Mahadev Temple
  • Mallikarjuna Mahadev Temple
  • Mahakaleshwar Mahadev Temple
  • Omkareshwar Mahadev Temple
  • Baidyanath Mahadev Temple
  • Bheemashankar Mahadev Temple
  • Nageshwar Mahadev Temple
  • Kashi Vishwanath Temple
  • Trimbakeshwar Mahadev Temple
  • Kedareshwar Mahadev Temple
  • Ghrishneshwar Mahadev Temple
  • Rameshwar Mahadev Temple

Significance of Dwadash Jyotirlinga Yatra in Kashi :

The 12 Jyotirling in Kashi is considered very auspicious. As per the Shiv Mahapuran, visiting the 12 Jyotirlingas of Kashi will absolve all the sins and make the soul of the devotees pure and attain Moksha.